Skip to main content

Leadership Conference & Banquet


Each October, Special Olympics hosts a Leadership Conference & Banquet in North Dakota. This two-day conference offers various programming tracks, including one for Athletes, Coaches and General. Saturday evening provides an opportunity to honor those committed to our mission with an Annual Awards Ceremony & Banquet.

To purchase tickets or find out more information, contact our office at or call (701) 746-0331.

2016 Award Winners

Female Athlete: Stephanie Hasse, Fargo

Male Athlete: Dante Agnes, Grand Forks

Coach of the Year: Kurt Weinberg, Bismarck

Youth Service Award: Michael Storandt, Grand Forks

Outstanding Area Volunteer: John Schonert, Valley City

Outstanding State Volunteer: Jake Thrailkill, Minot

Outstanding Family: Yvonne and Lynn Hummel Family, Fargo

Outstanding Area Organization: Knights of Columbus, Jamestown

Outstanding State Organization: Whiting Oil and Gas Corporation, New Town

Outstanding School: Mandan Public School, Mandan

LETR Flame of Hope: Minot Police Department, Minot

Roger Kerns Character Award: Heather Martell, Jamestown

Continuous Service Award: Kyllo Trucking, Larimore; Paul Spielman, Twin Valley; Ryan Kilwein, Dickinson

Daryl Bjelde Award: Philip Henry, Fargo

Hall of Fame: Christy Coughlin, Minot; Gary Grove, Grand Forks